Skip to content
March 14, 2009 / JV

don't do that.

dontdothatfro(^ this is me. but i have a face in real life.)

I was in the mall (first mistake) with my sister a while ago. We were strolling. Sauntered into a department store to look around, maybe for a coat or shirt or something. We’re over by the shoes and an employee walks by smiling. She says “hello” we say “hello” back. Then she looks at me and says “I like the wild look.”

oh am i going for a look? i wasn’t aware. i actually thought i just woke up this morning as usual. i should let you know: this is what my hair looks like. it actually grows like this. i know that can be difficult to understand in this world. but really, i’m just black.

i know you mean well, but why does hair that doesn’t lie flat on one’s head have to be ‘wild’? and why does it have to be a ‘look’?

don’t do that, white lady. don’t do that.

9 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. G.D. / Mar 14 2009 7:12 am

    lol @ ‘don’t do that.’

  2. khoLi / Mar 15 2009 6:32 pm

    i concur. deeply.

    my fave is “how do u get it s big?”

    “i lack a perm.”

    p.s. “don’t do that, white lady” IS hilarious.

  3. The Hair Guru / Mar 18 2009 8:06 pm

    I’m surprised she didn’t ask if she could touch it,

    D

  4. Big Word / Mar 18 2009 9:31 pm

    I like that whole Maxwell vibe it gives off. Urban Hang Suite Maxwell, that is.

  5. jelz / Mar 22 2009 5:55 pm

    hahaha hah ha.

  6. Hbsoul / Apr 3 2009 3:32 pm

    My boyfriend (locs down to his ass) is walking into a restaurant. Opens door for white lady. White lady’s eyes get big, and once she’s behind him picks up one of his locs.

    What does he say: “Don’t do that!”

    Color drains from said white woman’s face.

  7. chad / Feb 5 2010 2:19 am

    I really dont understand why natural hair is not more acceptable in professional settings.(or in any other settings for that matter))I cut hair and love curly hair of all kinds and textures.I dont understand the pressure to keep it straight and flat.”Wild style”?First off if hair has a personality of its own then you dont really have to approach it as a paticular “look”.I really hope in the future we see alot more natural hair and less pressure to put on so much make up.Alot of people favor a bad hair style , as long as its sleek and smooth,over beautifully shaped natural hair.Dont get it.

  8. caitlin1996 / Aug 14 2010 3:29 am

    Your hair looks normal to me. it’s, well…groovy?

Trackbacks

  1. don’t do that #247 « NOMARTYR

Leave a Reply

