Skip to content
August 27, 2008 / JV

Political Violence

I recently went on a family road trip to Birch Bay, a small town in my home state of Washington. It’s amazing how unwelcoming strategically placed political signs can be. I don’t know how many times I saw this:

And even worse, this:

McCain actually has somewhat of an advantage in the lawn sign competition, because his supporters have had a while to accumulate signs from his previously failed attempts at getting elected. I mean, he’s been running for president for what, 200 years now?

But really, it is interesting how names represent ideologies that can be interpreted as hostile towards certain people/lifestyles (poor, of color, queer, etc). The feeling I get from entering a small town and seeing those signs is similar to the feeling I get at truck stops, or when I see trucks with the confederate (or sometimes american) flag on them. Not quite threatening but certainly uneasy. Symbols and signs are like ways to claim and control space.

We don't like your kind

In other words - We don't like your kind!

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. 8th / Aug 27 2008 8:18 am

    “The feeling I get from entering a small town and seeing those signs is similar to the feeling I get at truck stops, or when I see trucks with the confederate (or sometimes american) flag on them.”

    It’s kind of like this joke Chris Rock said when people seem to be a little TOO patriotic.

    Also, I don’t see how anyone would want another Republican in office. I have my suspicions on ‘Obama-rama’ but looking at the past 8 years, I am down to see what happens.

Leave a Reply

